Expectations and the gifts they contain

Last evening I was quite excited about seeing professor Cox searching for answers about ourselves and our origins in the Universe. Portrayed in the t.v. program “Wonders of the Universe: Destiny.” My expectation of snuggling in before a warm fire  sitting back awed by the Universe and her mysteries was quickly destroyed. Staying at mum’s meant she is in control of the t.v. remote control.I returned from teaching my yoga class full of the expectations of seeing super novas and galaxy’s spread out before me, well it was not to be. Mum had received two phone calls, both from close members of our family with the news their marriage /partnerships were ending.
After listening to her for a while,  I noticed her thoughts were turning in a loop. I was expecting mum to talk through the problem. Having discussed it with her I noticed that she was so worked up in her own thoughts that my opinion was not considered. In the past this has been quite hurtful, a feeling of not being listened too or having my thoughts so definitely dismissed and then I recalled the yoga teaching.

You are not a child of the people you call father and mother,but a fellow traveler to understand the Universal truths. The ties that link you to family is not only of blood, but of joy and respect in one another’s life. Hoping and depending and expecting others to care about you and your ideas and what you say and do, is asking another to provide your happiness.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

