Fortunately we can see illusion and the game she plays

The game of life is played out on two fields. The internal and external stories or illusions we tell ourselves.

Maya -Illusion spins her web and before we know it our internal thoughts create our external world. We believe the powerful language that we use – ”Our head talk.”

The conversations or the stories I share internally and then externally create my success or perceived failure in my life path, relationships, my sense of freedom and finally happiness.We all know this on one level. But how do we change this? Maya,illusion is subtle but she can be changed. The first step is awareness,subtle and simple , play the game of listening.If you find it a little difficult to sit and listen to the loop of your thoughts try listening, to what you say, the words you speak. Fortunately this is a simple but very powerful technique it tells us so much about our internal dialogue. If you are in a difficult relationship with boss, parent or child. mentally take a step back. Luckily it is easy  to stop take a deep breath let it out slowly, listen and observe what the other is saying. For the gift of awareness takes us, simply by listening, away from the mental path we are used to taking.

An example of the illusory nature of thought is one I have carried ,unaware for along time. and fortunately through awareness I can change this.The thought that” I don’t fit in.” This has long driven the decisions I make as I attach meaning to this illusion, As I don’t fit in how can I do…. Luckily with awareness and by taking a step back I can go back to neutral.

I can recreate from a nothing or a place  where none of my old labels or stories exist.

As we tend to drag our past  labels and the feelings that surround them into the present moment and step back into the old illusion or label. By observing what I say in any given situation I am made aware of the illusion and the feeling  I place around ”I don’t fit in to this situation this conversation, relationship etc.” And by observation we see that countries and nations create an feed on illusion. There are illusions about how an organisation should be run. Their are cultural and personal illusions that hold us back.

This is the power of awareness and as we learn how to overcome the illusions that restrain us we learn to live a life of happiness and freedom. Fortunately like Shiva the great meditator we can learn to destroy the mental illusions that have ruled us in the past and create anew.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

