Breath to Empower in Three easy steps.

How my parents must have dreaded winter. The nights  when the temperature dropped saw me coughing,Dad softly padding down the corridor to  reassure me, my sister who shared the bed room loosing sleep…. I think you get the picture.                                               The ancient method employed by yogis held the answers.

Coughing continued after the tonsalectomy.I was finally daignosed  at age five with a partially collapsed lung.  It  then became difficult for my mother, as she needed to organise care for her other children and then take me on long train and tram journeys  in all weathers  to the Royal Children’s Hospital.   My Aunt sewed  me a support for my upper back to ensure I sat and stood straight  (even today strangers comment on how I sit with my back erect.) so as not to compress my lungs. The healing technique that proved the most effective was to lean an ironing board against the wall on a diagonal board.I lay face down, head towards the floor , feet elevated whilst  a family member pummeled my back to loosen the phlem,which accumulated each night in my lungs. Daily brothers ,sisters and me did the “sissing” breath and the…..well I did not know that I was using the three thousand year old yoga breath techniques, these same methods I would be teaching today to help people heal there Asthma , Hayfever and any other breathing problems.

To gain maximum benefit from this breath to empower you will need to be relaxed.Find a quiet place, a place you will not be disturbed.

I have broken it into three easy steps- Begin by lying down or sit in a comfortable position with your spine erect.Always inhale calmly and regularly. Aiming to have the inhalation and exhalation of the same timing. I suggest breathe in for the count of three, slowly breathe out for the count of three, slowly. After a while your breath will find it’s own rhythm.

  •  Lower lung breathing: Place your hands  on  base of your lungs, not sure place them over your navel, palms down finger tips touching. Breath in and out through  your nose, slowly and peacefully. The base of the lungs( feel the navel rise.) moves forward.
  • Middle lung breathing: Place your hands on ribs, palms down, fingertips just touching.  Breathe in expanding ribs at the front,,I suggest you breath in for the count of three and out for the count of three.
  •  Upper lung breathing:   The focus is to  only to fill your nose and throat.   Place   your  hands on your collar bones,  Breathe in slowly, for the count of three, exhale slowly  for the count of three.

 

Now allow it all to flow in as a wave . Place right hand on navel,left hand on chest,inhale lower lungs then fill the area below your ribs and finally into upper lungs,hold your  breath.

Then exhale,below your navel,ribs and upper lungs.

This was the technique that healed my lungs and I have used it to heal  students suffering from   Asthma, anxiety,depression and many other problems.

Benefits: neutralizes lactic acid which causes fatigue and pain. Increases   blood flow effeciency  which carries away the toxins and tiredness and the waste matter from cells. Mucus and acids reenter the blood stream to be eliminated. Giving your body greater dis-ease resistance. This empowering breath gives you more energy and vitality. Use  breath of  three easy steps to over come depressive thoughts and anxiety. The breath to empower used at night will guarantee you are deep and healing sleep.

Namaste

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

