Have a Stress free Christmas

We live in a small village, far from the busy shopping centers and Malls but Christmas is coming. How do I know this? My family are emailing and Phone calling, all of this flowing through the hub of my mother who normally provides her home as the place we fly in to or drive to, for an all too brief family gathering. We are scattered across the continent and a lot of juggling needs to be done to achieve our gathering. My Partner wishes to see children and grandchildren also on Christmas day. Adding more uncertainty to the equation. I’m sure many of you can relate to this.

This year my sister and husband have invited us to their home, four hours drive from Melbourne, for the Christmas celebration. Preparations are being made with the menu being reviewed, He will cook a special meal for us. It was arranged to house the extended family in a “farm stay” close by, well the owners have sold the business, so my sister is madly asking her neighbour’s for tents and spare beds and bedding. Adding the tensions to her already busy household. Working seven days a week running her own business,                                 Are you in a similar situation, already dreading the coming festive season?

We as a family are choosing our words carefully. What we say to each other and how we say it has become important. My mother says we are not to add more stress. Forgetting that the doing nothing is a  stressor also, It brings a sense of powerlessness.

During this mornings phone call my sister reminded me how she always felt better and slept deeper after attending an evening yoga class.  I could feel the tiredness in her voice and this is not yet the beginning of the Christmas/or Hanukkah season. Our conversation, It set me thinking, How to help?  First we must admit we are stressed, rushing and doing too much. Then and only then can change occur. Breaking it down into simple steps helps focus our attention.

A man who knew the force of anger and had the powers of government ranged against him, set India on the path to change with the simple words

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

Mahatma Gandhi

What changes do you wish to see in yourself or the wider world? Take a few moments today to write down the top three things you would like to see change.

Then ask yourself what I can do to be that change? Here are a few tips to get you started

I choose to speak with kindness.

Have you listened to your inner dialog today? Beware of the little voice in your mind that degrades, discourages and  worries. When you hear its warnings and admonitions reverberating in your head. Say” it’s only a thought” bless it and send it away.

And choose kindness. Talk to yourself lovingly. Remind your self -You are always loved. You are always needed. You are always safe. No matter what is happening in the world, or close to home.

I choose to speak with kindness.

I choose to act with respectfulness.

I choose to live with authenticity.

I choose to love deeply and unconditionally.

‘‘When love is the mixing spoon – the cake is always a success”

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have a Stress free Christmas

  1. Jnana Hodson says:

    Just remember, it’s ADVENT until Dec. 25.
    And then the Twelve Days of Christmas begin. Arrange to get together in the days that follow. Maybe even the Feast of Epiphany, Jan. 6.
    Don’t let anyone rush you.
    It’s a revolutionary concept I’ve come to embrace through my wife. Our tree doesn’t go up till Christmas Eve … and doesn’t come down until February sometime, most years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

