When People disappoint.

Fill your bowl

Often when there is a gathering of people, be it family birthdays, celebrations, sporting or cultural, town meetings, yoga conference, there will be a difference of opinions.It cannot be other wise, we all arrive at the venue with various ideas and agendas . Different levels of awareness and concern.We vibrate at different energy  levels,  carry past baggage, in other words the filter through which we view our life, an ever-changing prism. Hopefully we can use these experiences to grow and further enrich our lives.

Remembering for some people an adrenalin rush is needed, as much as a drug, these are the warriors in our lives, ever combating, their loyalties will sometimes cause them to defend only a small area of focus. They choose not to hold a wider focus. We can only function with the information/experience we have, and we are all doing the best we can. Here lies the beginnings of compassion for others, but most especially for our self.

When we feel  ourselves becoming angry or overwhelmed we would do better to slow our breathing and feel the floor beneath our feet and the sun on our back, in other words step into the moment , the space around us and not remain in our head.

This ancient saying may give us perspective.

Fill your bowl to the brim and it will spill,

Keep sharpening your knife and it will blunt.

Chase after money and security and your heart will never unclench.

Care about people’s approval and you will be their prisoner.

Do your work, then step back.

The only path to serenity

After all I would not want another to change me, that is my responsibility, my life’s work and sacred agenda, only I can work out the meaning of my particular life and live then to my highest potential.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

