Making Good on scandal of Shiva

Making Good on Scandal of Shiva.

Dancing Shiva

 Shiva, photo from theaustralian.com.au

‘‘In a region where heritage looting is rampant, we should step into the void”

Well I was really interested in the  newspaper article now.

As Shiva sometimes known as the Lord of creation danced the Universes out of the void. In the beginngless beginning from no- thing he danced and creation, life began.

I have taken the quote from the Metropolitan Museum of Art web site. “As a symbol, Shiva Nataraja is a brilliant invention. It combines in a single image Shiva’s roles as creator, preserver, and destroyer of the universe and conveys the Indian conception of the never-ending cycle of time. Although it appeared in sculpture as early as the fifth century, its present, world-famous form evolved under the rule of the Cholas. Shiva’s dance is set within a flaming halo. The god holds in his upper right hand the damaru (hand drum that made the first sounds of creation). His upper left hand holds agni (the fire that will destroy the universe). With his lower right hand, he makes abhayamudra (the gesture that allays fear). The dwarflike figure being trampled by his right foot represents apasmara purusha (illusion, which leads mankind astray). Shiva’s front left hand, pointing to his raised left foot, signifies refuge for the troubled soul. The energy of his dance makes his hair fly to the sides. The symbols imply that, through belief in Shiva, his devotees can achieve salvation.”

My favourite shawl that I drape around me when teaching is edged in representations of Dancing Shiva.

Meditation shawl of Shiva's dance

My Meditation shawl of Shiva’s dance

Shiva the lord of the dance who yoga legend tells us danced the sun and the stars into creation.
Stepping on the dwarf of ignorance, he raises his other foot to kick up stars and galaxies. Gas giants and their moons, stars and nebula. Galaxies arose with the flick of his finger and comets spangled beneath his feet.Shiva is the lord of creation, the bronze shows him dancing in flaming circle.

Talking the yoga class through relaxation,I wear the Shiva shawl, and is then draped over my yoga mat as I teach the Asanas, movements of the cosmic dance held in space and time. We create the pose , breathe life into it, so it breathes life into the yogi we maintain the stretch as we breath into it. And then we destroy , dissolve that time and space moment to move into another.
Glancing at the newspaper the photo  of Shiva caught my eye.
The National Gallery of Australia owns/owned a beautiful Shiva Nataraja statue.

Michaela Boland writing for the weekend Australian May 17 -18 2014
in theaustralian.com.au
tells us “It is less than a month since the National Gallery of Australia relinquished without challenge a jewel of it’s Indian art gallery,a $5.6 million bronze dancing Shiva found to have been stolen from India.’’ Thankfully we have been honourable, and are returning the beautiful bronze statue to it’s home in the temple in India.

My teacher Shanti of  shantiyoga.com
reminded us “I am the creative principal in everything that exists.”

Unknowingly you are already dancing with Shiva
e.g Your breath- We inhale to create the inflation and fill our lungs
We maintain the breath by holding it in.
Exhaling we empty or destroy the process. Only to inhale and create the dance of life, breath again.

Unknowingly we create, co-create our lives.
What are we stealing from ourselves, by not understanding the dance of life, we waste years in unhappiness.
If I look outside myself for happiness I disempower myself. Once we realise I am the master of my destiny, That I do not need to steal my joy I can dance with the divine energy.
When we embrace the moment and dance with our passion.
( find something that you can create for you.) a painting, baking a cake, building a chair. getting lost in creating music,sitting in meditation, walking on the beach. A place that let’s your heart sing.
Something that takes you out of your everyday life, where you can co-create with the  created.
Remember Shiva danced the Universe into time and space.
When we learn to embrace the moment and dance with our passion life renews again.

In the eastern view we are already enlightened perfect whole and complete. The western view we’re born in sin and sinners.Original sin. The Eastern view  is encapsulated in the beautiful  chant Om Nama Shivaya

 

 

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

