Heart warmer not heart destroyer.

“Drawn by Lorraine Willcock”

Returning from visiting my Mother I was travelling by Interstate train and bus.The interconnection of strangers always amazes and delights me. Travelling in winter the common thread was discussing the weather and the prospect of snow on the nearby hills. I bought coffee to warm myself at the train ‘Shop” having first thought to ask the lady across the aisle could I buy her one as well, and yet I hesitated and didn’t.A few days later at home found me flicking the pages of the Australian newspaper,to read my favourite article in theaustralian.com by Nikki Gemmel I saw, she must have read my mind.

“We practice kindness for self-preservation it helps us live stronger,and more optimistic, serene and loving lives. Kindness is the most effective circuit- breaker and even if it’s not reciprocated, or appreciated, or even noticed, it’s a gift for the giver. It’s like an armoury of serenity, but people often don’t realise its potency until they’ve accumulated a lifetime of experiences involving it- or not.” “Err in the direction of kindness,” Saunders urged. “Do those things that incline you toward the big questions, and avoid the things that would reduce you and make you trivial. “That luminous part of you that exists beyond personality your soul, if you will- it is bright and shining as any that has ever been. Bright as Shakespeare’s, bright as Gandhi’s, bright as mother Teresa’s. Clear away everything that keeps you separate from this luminous place. Believe it exists, come to know it better, nurture it, share its fruits tirelessly.”

Nikki writes American author George Saunders spoke on the importance of kindness in his speech to graduates last year. “His biggest regret; failures of kindness in his own life. niggling little moments, stretching to right back to school, when he recognised that someone needed a healthy dose of kindness and he responded only mildly, or sensibly, rather than vigorously. He is still haunted by those failures;”

“When I think of my own childhood I know what you mean Nikkey Gemmill says “People on the margins who I extended a hand to, Yes, but that touch could have been stronger, firmer, More courageous; more distinct from the crowd.”
As Saunders says, “To look at it from the other end of the telescope: who in your life, do you remember most fondly, with the most undeniable feelings of warmth? Those who were kindest to you, I bet.”
Nikki Gemmel says “Often it is the smallest gesture that can make a heart singsing. And in doing so, the giver is plumed with goodwill as much, if not more, than the receiver.”

Nikki reminds us “There are periods in all our lives when our kindness is absent; those sour, inward times when our face isn’t looking up strongly into the world, square on; when our lives feel flinched. We can climb out of those dark times by noticing others, practising a generosity of the soul, in a lowering which is also a strength.”
As Saunders says, “this confusion in each of us, A sickness, really: selfishness. But there’s also a cure.”

Albert Einstein noted: “Strange is our situation here upon Earth. Each of us comes for a short visit not knowing why, yet sometimes seeming to divine a purpose. From the standpoint of daily life, however, there is one thing we do know: that we are here for the sake of others…… For the countless unknown souls whose fate we are connected by a bond on sympathy.”

Energetically Kindness changes us, softens us,warms our hearts and the hearts of those we are kind too.
You could say our hearts open.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in meditator, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

