Beach picnic and meditation

Footprints in the sand

Footprints in the sand

"To see a World in again of sand."

“To see a World in again of sand.”

Sitting in meditation this morning and not being able to concentrate, my mind was running in circles.I decided my mind needed more space. There are many ways to achieve this. One is to physically place your self where the horizon is vast and open,with little to hem in your vision. ( city dwellers can gaze at the sky or the velvety darkness of night, sometimes spangled in stars.)

Spontaneous decision, instead of walking our dog on the familiar route lets breakfast on the beach.Our dog sensed a change in routine as he followed me round as I cut sandwiches, boiled water put fruit and yoghurt into the backpack, informing my man let’s get dog treats we are beach breakfasting. Ever practical he packed the ground sheet while I was searching out the folding dog water bowl.

We arrived to an empty beach, the very early morning walkers had left their footprints, the swimmers, well it was windy,what I hadn’t factored in was the rising wind, you know the wind that whips the sea to white caps and blows the sand, skittering along the beach into every crevice including your cup of hot water.

Sitting on the ground sheet gazing out to sea I could feel the tension dropping away. Good practice for stilling the body to prepare for meditation.It was too windy to do anything but sit still, look ,listen and be part of the spaces around me.

Remember like the footsteps in the sand, blown away, the beach wiped clean each morning, the transitory nature of things, this moment will never come again.
We tend to think that everything is permanent, unchanging,the person you are will be different from the time you started reading this article to the time you finish it. This beach beneath me, the sand once a mountain or worn from the surrounding cliffs.Even it’s original colour is no more, sun bleached and sea-washed

The water once a mountain stream in the far Himalaya’s, having travelled in the form of snow, ice melt and evaporated to rise as clouds and fall into the endless ocean now flowing as waves to this shore.

“And there are the particulars of the moment that only exist, right now. The combination of sounds and colors and shapes and smells around you will never exist in this particular combination ever again. The way your body feels, the thought that pops into your head in the next moment, will never exist again, ever.”Leo Babauta expresses -this capturing the moment beautifully.

This body, it’s cells constantly dying and renewing,The Sages told if I could only see myself truly in all my magnificence I would fall to my feet and worship the light within.

Or the eternal beauty from the poem by William Blake
(Fragments from “Auguries of Innocence”) Poetry lover’spage.com

To see a World in a grain of sand
and a Heaven in a wildflower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in meditator and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

