How do I centre myself? 4 easy techniques

Yesterday after class a student asked me how to centre herself?

Explaining that when she when she flew interstate for a family funeral, she found herself so nervous agitated and anxious getting a violent headache.This caused her to vomit in the toilet before the funeral began. She related how the previous wedding that she had flown home to attend had also caused A massive headache and again the need to vomit.

Sister-in-law’s who do yoga, suggested that she centre herself by placing one-hand on the back of her throat and one-hand on the front over her collar bones. ( Yes it works )

Thinking about this I agree that we all may at this busy time need to learn how to centre ourselves.
A few suggestions are given below.

The causes:
1   As I see it is that we’re so busy in our minds projecting into the future.

2   As it has happened twice now it must happen again.

1   This student was anxious as to what she would find on arriving, the people who she would meet.Projecting her mind forward.

A quote from zenhabits
“As we go through our day, we’re often stressed because of all the things we have to do, the things we’re not doing. We worry about how things will go in the future, and procrastinate because we’re afraid of an overwhelming task. We feel we’re not good enough, we compare ourselves to others, we fall short of some ideal. We replay a conversation that already happened.

That’s all in our heads, but it’s all fantasy. The reality of this specific moment is that you’re OK. Better than OK, actually: there are so many good things to be grateful for, in this moment.

And there are the particulars of the moment that only exist, right now. The combination of sounds and colors and shapes and smells around you will never exist in this particular combination ever again. The way your body feels, the thought that pops into your head in the next moment, will never exist again, ever.”

To achieve a state of clarity, if I am to get through the funeral and wedding, I must do one thing above all else: Be here now. I have to be attending to what is happening in this moment, this very next breath moment, and now, this very next breath.
If I project forward as I drive to the funeral, if I get upset over something someone tells me, I have lost my centre. I mustn’t care what I see in terms of the ultimate outcome.

I need to see it as it is, not as I want it to be.
So often we’re caught in the emotion of the moment the feelings that swirl around us, the things people say, that we forget to simply breath. By projecting our thoughts forward we are not in this breath moment.
And so we learned that centering is merely staying with the breath, observing what flows around us and if that means feeling the pain of loss – crying for the loss of a loved one
Crying for the joy of the wedding. The moment is lived to the fullest and we can then live in the next breath moment.

4  simple Techniques to center yourself.
1  For me the breath is the fastest way to centre – finding the Stillpoint within.

2  For others it is Mantra the repetition of a sacred sound.

3  Awareness/grounding:

4  Mudra or hand gesture:If you are overwhelmed in a crowd this is an instant way to bring you in the moment.>

Centering

Hasta Centering   Mudra to calm the mind

Ksepana Mudra

Ksepana Mudra

Ksepana Mudra

The Ksepana Mudra allows the release of negative energy and emotions.

Whenever the emotion arises and threatens to overflow you. Sit still, push your tailbone to the back of the chair, car seat, feel your your feet on the floor. Relax.

The sunlight on your shoulders and the crown of your head. Come into body awareness. Do not project into the future, meaning, what it will be like when you arrive, who you will meet. How you will manage, just be you with your body, with your breath.

Perhaps it will be easier for you if you focus on your navel. How it rises and moves forward with the in breath how it drops in and down with the out breath.

2. Because it happened twice before it must happen again.
Leo Babauta in his Blog Zenhabits.net says
“This is the ever-changing, impermanent nature of you. And in truth, every single thing around you is changing all the time, sometimes in less obvious ways. Everyone around you is changing. Each moment is a fluid snapshot of impermanent changing entities, interacting with each other.

That’s the reality of this moment. Don’t miss it.

And this awareness is available to you all the time. Throughout the day, as you start to worry and get lost in your tasks, ask yourself, “What’s the reality of this moment?”

Am I centered? if I am not in this moment where am I?

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in womens health, yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

