Relax It’s Christmas

“If you want to know what your deeper beliefs are, look at your life and it will tell you.”
Carol Tuttle Liveyourtruth.com

Christmases past I have sabotaged with undue stress and emotional overload.All ready the phone is ringing with my brothers asking “what is the plan? One doesn’t know when he is arriving at mum’s as he is on a contract and the Boss hasn’t yet said who is working what shift. The other well he doesn’t know yet either. Sister will be arrive the 24 th. So it begins. We will have four house guests to stay after Christmas so shopping cleaning, planning.

But when you operate from the energy of stress, you have the tendency to unconsciously create more of what you don’t want: stress!

Relax you can have aChristmas of  goodness and Joy.

You will naturally invite more of what you really want to experience this time of year!

It’s that easy, and you feel a lot more rested.

The discussion began when Angela said she was only sending Christmas cards to people she liked.That started me thinking about all the other things I do at Christmas out of habit that make me stressed.

Oh dear I’ve fallen into the trap ,so soon, I’m complaining about Christmas.
A time of joy, surrender,gathering and garnishing. I’ve turned into sleeping less and getting snappy.

Which of these 5 tendencies may be sabotaging your holiday season without you even knowing?

Consider the possibility if you do less of the following 5 things this holiday season,how you christmas will be.

Take care on overspending at Christmas

1 Overspending is so easy, We buy for the loved ones and then say well what about me? and then in January the credit card bills arrive.
The gift of you is much more potent. Fully present and with all of your inner gifts is much more valid to the family/friends.People are rushed and stressed at this time, bring something small, home made or home cooked, much more special, and be present to their inner needs.

2 I’ve started to please others and not myself Easy isn’t it He just came in to tell me we have agreed to buy the…………at Christmas.

I then feel powerless and start complaining about the things I never wanted to do in the first place
3 Let go of over committing.
Have gratitude for this moment and the joy you have in it.


4 After the rain had cleared I took the dog out in the evening light the clouds gathering more rain coming, a friend invited us in for a drink and some Christmas ham.
4 Let go of alcohol and eating too much
So the walk home bought me the accompanying guilt about too much wine and food.
The dog truly enjoyed the ham.
I need to go to bed feeling lighter, not weighed down with excesses of food and drink.

Every day you nourish your body with healthy food and drink you will feel lighter and much more energised.

Enjoying time together

My partner will go to ‘every bun fight ‘ going. I am a person who needs their own space and moves to a slower drum beat. Normally this is complimentary blend.
Come Christmas or Easter I am stressed as more and more is added to my days , and he is bouncing with the extra activities.
  

The colours of peaceful place.

The colours of peaceful place.

5 I must set clear boundaries.
My Mother is 90 years old and cannot do the Christmas pudding /lunch /dinner. Yet some of my siblings seem incapable of recognising this.another arrives stressed from running their own business and worried about Mum and who will cook what.

What we really want is to be with family in a relaxing atmosphere.

We need to ask ourselves -Is this something I want to do or something I feel forced into doing?

Remember as You give yourself permission to say no, this gives others the same permission.
I will not do it all,- visit all the places and people my partner wants to see this year, After all he is the one who enjoys the “Busi-ness”.Filling the car with adults and grandchild he can ride off to visit others. I must find time to meditate and sit with friends.
For me in the silences, the riches of Christmas arises,The candle glow on the tree catching the tinsel in sparkling haloes of light. The still point that gave us the Christ child and the gifts of Christ Mass. a time to say thank you for a year past.
The family tradition is to say what have we achieved this year.for me it is only what I can do each day and without the guilt for the things I did not complete. That includes the times I don’t put enough time aside for meditation.

As we let go………something else will show up what would you like it to be?

“Relax and throw the searchlight of vitality within to reveal the presence of spirit”  Paramahansa Yoganada

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in meditator, womens health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

