Hanging your heart on your christmas tree.

A student mentioned that her  daughter’s family( who had lived overseas,their children had been born overseas, and attended an international school.) would have their first Christmas in their new home back in Australia.Her daughter was concerned about their eldest boy. He was missing  his best friend that he had left behind in Asia. I suggested her daughter’s  family gather to decorate their Christmas tree. Each child making or purchasing a special decoration that would have the name of their friend and what ever else the child thought suitable. The children emailed their friends in Japan and asked them to do the same thing . Children instinctively know of the connection made by the heart and how distance, words, wide oceans,high mountains, millions of miles , these mean nothing to the heart. Only love is the language of the heart. I received a lovely thank you from the mum.She said it would now become a family tradition. We make a bit of the ceremony of decorating the Christmas tree. I have a living tree in a pot. The perfume of the needles subtle on a warm evening, branches graceful and extended. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEach bauble, decorative ornament  or tinsel shape is chosen for a particular person who is in our life.Taking it in turn, as we hang each decorative ornament, speaking out loud the blessing that we would wish to that particular person. Many people are grieving at this time: Friends have family members in hospital, tiny children away from their home environment .The sudden shock of the death of a loved one. The loss of a job, someone being made to feel redundant and useless. Perhaps a friend is in prison. Maybe someone you know is overcome with depression. My mother is 90 and her eyesight is diminishing.Reading is her connect to the world, she thrives on cards and letters as well as phone calls. Picking up a shining ball it sits in my hand I enjoy the smooth surface, I picture visualise her and    I wish her clear sight and to see the endless blessings around her.  Many need blessings, the silent touch of love heart to heart. And so we take it in turns to choose an ornament, maybe a colour appeals or a shape, and it reminds us of a certain person. As the candle glow reflects on the shining orbs and the branches of our tree, now coloured and shiny with reflected light, we widen our world in our wishes. To people we will never meet, blessings to countries we will never visit, to places we will never know. And yet at this time of year when families gather, we are aware of the many who are alone. Here are some ideas you may wish to include Finding your family as a blessing – Spending special time with them. Having union Christ – Mass With your self and others A Blessing of the gift of time-The retrieval of intuition /inspiration Blessings for Mother Earth- nature Joy and laughter nourishing your creative life. Nourishing your body/mind And at this time of gathering creating food to share A blessing for all who are hungry.

Each bauble reminds us of a loved one

Each bauble reminds us of a loved one

Forgiveness. I often feel that I have let myself down, allowed negative thoughts to crawl like worms into my brain. I keep the strength of wise men and women on my book shelves. The wisdom of Florence Shovel Shinn is one such book. florencescovelshinn.com.  That blessing we all need: “I forgive everyone and everyone forgives me.”

“My good now overtakes me in as uprising way.  “

Green for blessing Earth

Green for blessing Earth

May we encourage you, as you decorate your tree, as you welcome your friends, as you go about your busy day, to think of those we need an extra blessing this time of year. As human beings we resonate from heart to heart. Each one of us part of the Matix,the whole the beautiful space we call Earth, like the shining filaments of light on the Christmas tree. Think of those in hospital think of those in prison think of those who believe they are not good enough do not contribute or cannot– As you decorate your tree let your heart open wide and send the love and the light that you are spinning to all beings.

Christmas tree

Christmas tree

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

