Fishing and Meditation.

Deepak Chopra talks of  dropping the mind into the spaces between the thoughts. Just as the fishermen drops his line between the rocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I awake to the silence, and no the lullaby of the sound of sea, A heartbeat of waves. Their sound is familia as is the tang of salty air.

I can hear footsteps, moving, I know he  is excited about   taking the boat out for the first time in a long time. I pull my feet in close as he sits on the end of the bed  to put his shoes on. The dog stirs in the other room and I think about getting up. I’m warm and content and as I don’t have any clients till late morning I don’t really need to leave the soft bed. I think  of catching the daylight that is sparkling  through the window, there is warm scented breakfast and yes I will get up. It’s still early so there’s no one else around the perfect time for meditation.

Our little village is filled up with holidaymakers,boats ,kayaks, surfboards and the beach fishermen and women scattering  along the curve of the beach.Each  morning  and late evening- fishing. Fishing and meditation I suspect have a lot in common. What is it that pulls the city  dwellers out of beds? Causes them to leave their sleeping bags to listen to the first sounds,sea, the birds, magpie, singing, for the sun has risen there are people moving toward the sea. My brother who fishes the river told mom it wasn’t about catching fish it’s about the silence and the doing nothing, just sitting watching ,being ,and that is a peaceful thing to do.

My man tells me fishing for him gives him time to ponder, think on the bigger things.

His words “Fishing is exciting, taking you out in the elements.

You win some you loose some, so it teaches you life’s lessons. ”

As the year dawns new – each of us needs the space –  that mixing with the elements, excitement. As we cast the net of our mind out what do we wish to hook into this year? may I suggest you cast your line far to bring space  into your day and yes be willing to loose some of your ideas your hard won pre conceived notions.  I wish for more grace into our movements and our thoughts. remember you have infinite probabilities and all possibilities within you.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

