New Year for one wild and precious Life

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves. […]
The world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting-
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.“ Mary Oliver.

From “Wild Geese”;
Dream Work (1986)

We start the New Year carrying the baggage of the old. I want to let go of that and not turn in the same circle.

Some ideas to help break the cycle:
I decide I want to change things in my life. I can carry an idea around in my head and want to change , but until I am willing to look at it square on it will not be brought into my consciousness or acknowledged by me.
Writing it down is an excellent way to start the process of change It must be felt in my body , not just held in my mind if I want it cleared/changed.

Using the headings below (from Nickortnertapping.com)

Step 1: Write down your goal, dream, aspiration

Step 2: Write down your immediate gut response when you read that goal

How do you FEEL? Remember we operate first through our feelings. Some people under deep trauma survive by closing down feelings.Every day in some way or other we push down our hurts and slights, real or imagined. The body will dredge these feelings to the surface as excima, rashes, intestinal problems the list continues, stress and high blood pressure, you can see where I am going can’t you?

Whatever pops in your head first, write that down,we want to dredge the feelings up before they bring dis – ese into the body.

Once you have written it down ask yourself
Are you 100% in alignment with it?

How does your body respond to reading it?

For example, you might feel and write down, “I feel uncomfortable when I read this,
I’m excited,
I’m anxious…”

Step 3: Write down what other people would say about your goal if you shared it with them

Friends, family members, society, co-workers, etc.

So if you think about sharing your goal with your mom, and you picture her saying, “That’s a silly idea…”, then write that down PLUS how you FEEL about her thoughts.

Step 4: Write down YOUR beliefs about the goal

This one is an interesting one for me, at school I felt like around peg in a square hole, always out of step.

For example…. “Part of me thinks this is impossible…
I’ve never been able to do this before…
Who am I to achieve this…”

Note the feelings this brings up. Take a deep breath let it out slowly

Another idea is to find some cheap paper, the paper butchers wrap their meat in or fish sellers. Large sheets of inexpensive paper.Even the back of your christmas wrapping paper, if you have any left.

Bring it to the surface to heal.

Bring it to the surface to heal.

Divide page in half write a heading.

Left side write down quickly, don’t think remember we want to contact the feelings behind the words.
Yes it will feel strange to do this but pe sever. We want to change and expand our dreams for this year. Remember if we continue to do what we have always done we will end up with the same result.

Create a vision board. I’m sure you have heard of this but remember, like cleaning out your cupboards before Christmas this also needs revising and updating.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

