A visiting Swami and money in his sandals.

This beautiful photo from Hartwig HKD titled Virpassana Meditation

This beautiful photo from Hartwig HKD titled Virpassana Meditation

A visiting Swami explained how meditation was taught in the villages in India. The teaching Monks?Swamis left the monastery’s moving from  village to small town, carrying their food bowl and possibly a spare robe. Dependent on the hospitality of the villages for their food and accommodation. They would teach underneath the largest tree in the village square. The elders of the town sat in a circle around Swami, the other  villages found their place behind and those who came late often sat in the boiling sun. Sometimes coins were offered to the Swami discretely placed in the Swamis  sandals.

During Yoga class we tell stories to uplift the students to inspire and guide them. One of my students took this story to heart and was placing her Yoga class fee in my sandals. Doing my book work I noticed that I was always some money short, my books didn’t balance. Some weeks later this regular student arrived early before the class began. She explained to me that she was very impressed with how her life, had become more abundant, things were appearing for her, opportunities that had never been there before. And she thought this all began after starting Yoga. Also something to do with the inspirational yoga stories I was telling. She had come to class early to thank me. She then related how for the last few weeks, as she paid for her Yoga class weekly, at the end of each class money
.had been appearing mysteriously into her sandals.

Money in sandals

Yes you’ve figured it out.

All this time one other  student had been placing money into what thought were my sandals. Sadly from her I needed to explain that the money was meant to me my payment for my yoga class. But the student took the lesson in abundance and said that her life had and was always changing for the better.

The life of the travelling monk/swami was shaped and driven by teaching meditation he took his art and science from village to village. Guided to inspire and shape the lives of others

Perhaps this year we could ask ourselves how can I inspire another?
Meditation is shaping my life with more joy as well helping my life expand into helping others for the better?

as you create inner peace it makes the world around you a paradise.

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in meditation, mens health, mind health, womens health, yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

