New Year’s Annual recipe – moved to Australia Day

I had intended writing on the special people who have received  Australian of the Year award.

The awards given on the 26th January – Australia Day.

I found my article in the draft box.Rereading it I feel the sentiments are so beautifully expressed I publish it now for Australia Day.

One of the talks I had to give to complete my Yoga teacher’s course was on a powerful quote, I choose a Goethe saying:

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it!” ― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe – Thank you to goodreads.com

First believe and then create. First believe and then create Can you imagine how delighted I was to find a New Year message from two lovely people in Germany containing that quote and another from Goethe’s  Mother.

Annual recipe by Catharina Elisabeth Goethe.

(1731-1808) Goethe’s mother

Take 12 months, clean them thoroughly from bitterness, stinginess, pedantry and fear,

and break down every month into 30 or 31 parts,

so that the stock will last for a whole year.

Now every day is arranged individually with one part of work and two parts of cheerfulness and humour.

Then add three heaped tablespoons of optimism, a teaspoon of tolerance, a small grain of irony and tact.

Now everything is poured over with plenty and a lot of love.

The ready dish is recommended to be decorated with small bouquets of attention and is to be served daily with cheerfulness and with a good, refreshing cup of tea…

Cup of tea

Cup of tea

Lots of love and all the best for 2015 Karin & Dieter

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in New year's annual recipe, Quote by Goethe, Yoga teacher and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

