Sand in my Meditation

book and serenity , how amazing

The sand still held the warmth from the day. It was silky to the touch.I let it play through my fingers,settling in to a comfortable seating position for meditation. A curious seagull, keeping  a safe distance approached,watching, waiting, hoping the Fella would catch a fish to share.

It was the Fellas idea, on our evening dog walk, he was muttering something about the tides and the wind, suddenly announcing he would go fishing and would I like to come?

My head was full of what are we having for dinner ?And what vegetables I needed to prepare. Slightly annoyed that he would choose now when my tummy was rumbling, I grumpily said  Oh O.K.

Well why not? Only habit dictates we eat our evening meal at that time.” Yes I can be open to spontaneity.

“This is the ever-changing, impermanent nature of you. And in truth, every single thing around you is changing all the time, sometimes in less obvious ways. Everyone around you is changing. Each moment is a fluid snapshot of impermanent changing entities, interacting with each other.” http://www.zenhabits.com

So here I am seated on the sand, as the day changes to evening , the colours around me soften,sharp edges smooth out, the horizon line glows and cloud wisps tinge mauve and silver.   I am so glad I was invited to this beautiful moment.Just He and I and three other fishermen  far down at the distant curve of the beach.

Leo Babauta reminds us”and there are the particulars of the moment that only exist, right now. The combination of sounds and colors and shapes and smells around you will never exist in this particular combination ever again. The way your body feels, the thought that pops into your head in the next moment, will never exist again, ever.”

As I close my eyes and prepare to let thoughts come …let thoughts go, I am aware of the sound  of the waves. This will be a meditation of activating my sense of listening.The moment I close my eyes, and begin to slow my breath, sounds are louder and clearer.

I can hear the underlying soft  water sound that flows between and under the sound of the  waves.My mind flows between the two sounds, water softly flowing and waves coming to shore.And  then returns to breath. Listening being still. As my focus is entirely taken up with these, other thoughts can drop away. The worries and burdens I heap on myself are no longer important. My body nestles into sands softness. I can let go and allow the sand to support me. Let go  of mind, as the waves flow, so my mind flows.

As the sea is constantly changing the sands eternally shifting so too is the person I know as me.

“You yourself are changing all the time. We think of ourselves as one unchanging entity, but the self that you are right now is different than the one you were before you read this article. And that was different than the one who woke up this morning, because various things interacted with you to change you in small (or large) ways.” writes Leo.

That’s the reality of this moment. Don’t miss it.

And this awareness is available to you all the time. Throughout the day, as you start to worry and get lost in your tasks, ask yourself, “What’s the reality of this moment?”

No fish for dinner last night, but the serenity was healing beyond measure.fishing in the evening

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

