Thanks to the fire brigade

After the fire

Volunteer Fire Brigade  photo by Lorraine

Cleaning out my emails I discovered this one to my brother.

“Well it has been the strangest day for me.
Initially I thought I had achieved nothing.
Now that the evening meal is finished and I have the time to reflect I realise the gifts the day has brought.
I cancelled the yoga class, knowing my voice and body could not last the hour and a half class. no focus or clarity you see. So we sat in the morning sunlight, the Yoga students, (those who hadn’t received the email) and I and we talked and laughed.

I put eye drops in a friends eyes( they were irritated by the smoke.)

I laughed with a friend and neighbour and thanked him for making me feel safe as we worked together.

A neighbour walking her dog past, stopped to ask after us.
She explained that something had woken her minutes after midnight, she new not what, and then fell back into sleep. Not believing that she had slept through it.
( and assured me the home owners were insured.)
This evening I was given a hug by a colleague and friend who arrived full of concern about how we were the “Fella” and I. She had just heard the news from the post mistress.

Striding down the hill,Another couple of volunteer fire fighters, “yes I’ve had a sleep and feel much better now” two more “Fires”and we all conferred on last nights fire.

Having related our roles, in the smoke heat and confusion, we could not always know what other brigade members were doing,radios do not always work, we spoke on how we could improve things. This was for most of us the first structure fire we have had to attend in our village.
Someone’s home someones shelter, Shocked as she was the lady home owner called to us as we arrived “Be careful, be careful there are gas bottles around the side of the house.”

Our village is small and we are blessed with the back up we received from other Volunteer Fire Brigades. The Ambulance and Police, Search and Rescue, how lucky we are to have them arriving quickly.
The sense of sadness lingers like the smell of smoke ,that is faintly whisping around the rooms. The people who have lost their home. We could not save it, we were able to stop it spreading to surrounding homes.

I wish to thank the wind for not blowing, the moon for lighting the night,((flashing lights on stationary fire trucks can’t cover it all and the fire is often masked by billowing smoke.) And the cold air for descending, (would be a frost in the valleys by morning. Though my teeth were chattering at one stage. Cold or shock or adrenalin wearing off, I do not know.) I am thankful that the house had space around it, enough for us to drag our fire hoses around. That we are not on tank water, mains pressure provides a good water supply. (Since then I learned that we had run out of water. The reticulated water supply cannot handle too many trucks using it – old fashioned piping too small.)
And for the people who are the team called Volunteer Fire Brigade, who call unknown strengths in me and have such big hearts.

For the couple who have lost home and the easy structure of their lives, I wish you courage and Hope.
Sleep well in your bed for that is were I am going now .

Good night, God bless

Love Lorraine.”

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Fire Brigade, Hope, strength,courage, Volunteer fire brigade, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

