Early morning serenity – Simple exercise/Meditation

The “Fella” went fishing this morning. So set the alarm, even though I had intended rolling over when it sounded and returning to sleep  my senses seemed wide awake. I was  dozing as he was collecting his fishing gear, I smelt  he was making me a cup of tea.I heard the kettle sing, I saw the  sky was cloudless, after days of rain. Perhaps I could leave my warm bed to take the dog for an early morning beach walk. Glad we did, the dog loves the beach and sniffs and runs freely kicking up sand and spinning in circles of delight, then charging into the waves, (then back to me as if to say thank you) and has an almighty enjoyable time. I had taken the camera and the tea in a thermo cup ( wonderful invention) I found a driftwood log to sit on to soak up the serenity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our dog loves the beach

The soft grey horizon eased from pink and grey  to liquid gold as the ball of the sun rose from behind the cliff ,the sea swelled and rippled, from a soft murmur to waves that slid with sunlight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serene with the stillness

Our dog ran ahead and returned often as I sat there and watched the passing of the Sea Eagle  overhead send the seagulls to flight. In the distance, I think,  the passing flight  were swans. All in silence.

sunrise the perfect time to meditate.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Perhaps you do not live near the sea, or do not wish to rise at 5.30 a.m. Maybe you are just learning to Meditate. The secret to expanding your mind into silence is to allow more space into your mind/life.

You can try this simple exercise sitting on the train to work, while still in bed or before sleeping.

Slow your breathing, softly allow the breath to deepen.

Become aware of your surroundings.

I could feel the the hard timber beneath my bottom, sand, cold through my sandals,  the collar of my jacket against my skin.

Activate your sense of silence. Let it wrap itself around you

Activate your sense of touch it is your heart that calls for this ( feel the touch of of clothes on skin.)

Activate your sense of taste,  salt in the air and on my tongue

Activate your sense of sight, what are you eyes drinking in? Close them gently.

Activate your sense of  smell.

Active your sense   of  touch.

Activate your sense of  listening, it is the silence you are listening for.

 

For more depth try my Free app at Google App store  ( for Android)

play.google.com/Apps‎      Yogameditation one word then stroll down to Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 3.47.03 pm

yoga and meditation and see above.

 

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Depression, Women's Health, Men's health,, breath, Free yoga meditation app, meditation, mens health, Sense of smell, womens health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

