Life is Joy…..well most days.

Some things I struggle with. My school days I am glad are well behind me,I was never the Teacher’s pet. No  my parents probably dreaded Parent’s teacher night. I was the child who tried to blend into the wallpaper.

Because everything we attempt/embrace  / join means taking on and maintaining new skills. Hence the need to update my fire fighter volunteer skills form bush fire or basic to structure fires.

img_2500

 

I have just completed a four day Portrait Painting class  with Grace Paleg and woke each morning delighted and anxious in a positive way.Setting out full of wonder that I too, perhaps, could complete a likeness,a portrait, bringing a person to life on paper or canvas.

Rushing home, tired but delighted with my progress, to gulp down a snack  and on two of those evenings I then joined my ‘Fella’ and friend to begin the firefighting Village course. Driving the three quarters of an hour back to school.

I wish I could say I was buzzing with positive energy and expectation. Sadly  the anxiety was about how little I know and how I could let others down, especially in what could be a life threatening situation. This is working on the other side of the brain. Leaving the creative intuitive free fall of painting( yes there are rules involved) over to the anilitical, reading, writing, arithmetic side – no room for error.

And yet so many in the room were nourished and flourishing on the pathways of fire, how solids become gases etc.What type of fire needs what to extinguish it?

As I sat watching the terrifying videos e.g. What happens when a gas tank explodes? I was asking myself …Why am I here?

Answer:  I’m part of a small community that does  not  have enough volunteers,

How can I ask someone else to do what I am unwilling to do?

I have formed strong friendships with the diverse people who do volunteer, these people have taught me so much, enriching my life, I know they also struggle with  the responsibility we all take on. I guess that will have to be enough for me.

The wonderful quote below………. well I am still trying to translate the joy of painting into the Fire fighting aspect of my life.

 

Sscreen-shot-2016-09-14-at-7-35-03-pm

About lorraine

After a nasty fall from my bicycle, coming home from high school, I began suffering from migraines. After a term of Chiropractic adjustments, which helped but did not entirely stop the migraine headaches, my parents in desperation sent me to yoga classes, The only available evening class in our area was filled with pregnant women. I felt out of place as a shy teenager, but persevered. adjustment,breathing, meditation and yoga proved the only therapy that bought relief from the headaches. Feeling well I got on with life, married moved from my home town and forgot the daily yoga practices and there benefits. Coming back to Yoga and meditation helped me manage during the time of my father's Cancer. and death. Later when my Husband became ill the natural decision was to qualify as a Yoga, meditation teacher to further assist others through the difficult times of illness and recovery or death. I have now been benefiting from the science and art of Yoga, Meditation for well over twenty five years.
This entry was posted in Bush fire,Village fire fighting,Women's health,Men's health, Anxiety, Portrait Painting., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

